Glossary - Transport and Logistics Information Portal




IATA is an international trade body, created over 60 years ago by a group of airlines. Today, IATA represents some 250 airlines comprising 94% of the international scheduled air traffic. The organisation also represents, leads and serves the airline industry in general. Ensuring that undeclared dangerous goods do not get on board an aircraft is one of many key objectives of IATA's dangerous goods programme. By defining standards for documentation, handling and training, and by actively promoting the
adoption and use of those standards by the air cargo industry, a very high degree of safety has been achieved in dangerous goods transport.
See under:
The IATA publications have to be ordered.
The IMDG (International Maritime Dangerous Goods) Code is accepted as an international guide to the transport of dangerous goods by sea and is recommended to governments for adoption or for use as the basis for national regulations. It is intended for use not only by the mariner but also by all those involved in industries and services connected with shipping, and contains advice on terminology, packaging, labelling, placarding, markings, stowage, segregation, handling, and emergency response. The code is updated and maintained by the International Maritime Organization every 2 year.
See also:
The website provides manifold information. The IMDG-Code incl. appendixes is not freely available but can be ordered.
IMO refers to the International Maritime Organization, which provides requirements for shipping hazardous materials via waterways.
see under: